Data science isn’t science … and the math in machine learning isn’t math (dissapointment)

This mostly explains why I lost interest in these fields.

  • Data science isn’t science. It’s business improvement using a little bit of machine learning, and the core knowledge base is stuff from an MBA, not STEM.
  • Machine learning doesn’t use math … it uses arithmetic on steroids. Machine learning uses correlations to determine the “best” choice. Correlations are ratios … which are arithmetic (divide).
  • The linear algebra in machine learning is used more to lay out the data, not so much to “do math” in the sense that it’s merely computing equations, not proving or solving anything

Honestly, a marketing person or an accountant would do better in data science than a pure STEM nerd. All the tech prowess in the world is useless if you do not know how money flows or how businesses work in real life. All of this is business major and/or MBA stuff.

Maybe it’s better if you go with life science or medicine. But I personally don’t care for these fields, so end of story.

Another very unattractive aspect of the profession is how slow it is to get feedback, apparently.

I don’t want to have to wait six months or a year to know if I was right for one lousy project. It’s a freaking waste of time.

I grow from being wrong and doubling down on what was wrong. I want to know NOW.

If I know NOW, then by tomorrow I would have overcome that erroneous perception and would already be better.

With data science I’ll have to wait for six months. This is way too slow. I don’t have the patience for it, and if anything, I will probably become dumber in this environment.

I need to be wrong. My errors are the footholds in my ladder.